St. Joseph County is comprised of sixteen townships. The St. Joseph County Road Commission is responsible for the reconstruction and maintenance of primary roads along with the maintenance of local roads. The Townships collaborate with the Road Commission on a contractual basis for reconstruction of local roads and local road improvements done by the St. Joseph County Road Commission. In 2014, St. Joseph County voters passed a ten (10) year renewal of a countywide road millage of 1 mill, which is designated for road purposes within the incorporated cities and villages in St. Joseph County, Michigan, and to improve, repair, and maintain existing local roads within the townships in St. Joseph County. The St. Joseph County Road Commission, with the portion it receives, appropriates it first to the townships on a need basis countywide to maintain all the local roads within the townships.



Burr Oak




Constantine Mottville
Fabius Nottawa
Fawn River Park
Florence Sherman
Flowerfield Sturgis
Leonidas White Pigeon


The Road Commission is prohibited by law from entering into contracts with private groups or individuals for road improvement or maintenance. Contact your township for information on dust control material application on gravel roads. Special signs or work on private roads must be done on a contractual basis with the township.